When Should You Retire?

When should I retire? I have been pondering this question for quit some time now. What will I do? Do I want to retire from my current place of employment just to start new somewhere else? Do I want to work part-time? Do I want to volunteer? Can I retire and live off my desiginated pension? All of these are valid questions that I must carefully consider before makeing the jump into “retirement” life after work, supposedly.

Well let me first say, no I am not ready to retire.However, I do plan to leave my current place of employment within the next 4 years.  I feel that I have some other great things to do before I officially stop working. It is my plan to continue on to my next phase of life. I am no where near the normal age the ‘baby boomers’ would consider to end my employement. But I also don’t want to work in the same capacity and at the same place for another 25 years.

Also, I am apart of a pension plan that I will benefit from while not having to depend on Social Security. I will have income although I plan to supplement this income. So I have decided to start a home business. What that business will be, well, that is still in the research phase. I am working on that idea now so within 4 years, I will tender my resignation.  

It is my dream and goal to start my next phase of life with a new means of income. Yes, Ilook forward to leaving my current place of employement to start anew at something else. And this time it will be because I “love it” and I can work at my own schedule. Now is the time to put them into action.

I am not one to just sit idlely at home with nothing to do. I need projects to work on and daily activities to fill my day. I love volunteering so that is something I will consider as well. And I will have plenty of time to “interfere” as my college kids sometime says, into their lives. That will be one of my greatest joys.

I look forward to this upcoming opportunity because I will have the time to pursue all the projects I have always wanted to tackle and even new projectsI have wanted to learn. I will not be one of those “old ladies” that sit back and watch the world pass her by. I plan to remain active into my college kids lives whether they like it or not, and enjoy life with a smile on my face..  

Retirement does ntot have to be a scary word or a mystery of if or when. You just need a plan of action and just go for it.

I plan to Go For It!

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

