Changng your MIndset

Have you ever considered, what type of mindset do I have? When things happen, what do I tell myself? The self-talk I have, is it negative, positive or indifferent? Do you expect the best out of life or do you say “it’s always something” or “it never happens to me”? The response to these questions could determine the type of mindset you have and help you to identify your pattern of self-talk.

Let me first start by saying, my self-talk was not always “rosy”. I have had and still at times have my bouts of negative responses to ‘life lessons’ but I am better than I was 10yrs ago. Of course life is not and will never be perfect but we can ‘choose’ to respond to life’s lesson’s positively or negatively.

You may wonder what does it matter, positive or negative? It matters  A LOT! Why? Well, your response to situations and circumstances will determine if your next step out of the experience is either an opportunity or one of hopelessness. It is ALL determined by your mindset.

To have a positive mindset, you must consider the following points: what is your belief system, do you have self-worth, what are you reading, and who are your friends?

BELIEF SYSTEM

What you believe determines a lot of what you expect out of life.  Do you believe you should be poor? Do you believe you should have abundance? Belive it or not your belief system determines a lot of what you expect out of life. If you have been taught ‘it is better to give than to receive’ and you never allow anyone to give unto you, this could hinder your progress in life and in business. Of course you should give to others but you should always be open to allow someone to give unto you. It is my philosophy that if my hands are open to give to someone, they are also open to receive as well.

SELF WORTH

Do you believe you are worthy of good things happening in your life? What is the answer to the question, “am I good enough? If you don’t believe you are good enough then your response to ‘life lessons’ will be negative. You will never expect anything good to happen to you. You will always think you don’t deserve that opportunity, love of your life, big house, great job or just whatever. The list could go on and on. You must EXPECT the best in order to HAVE the BEST.

READING

What are you reading? Are you reading or constantly watching tv? What you ‘feed’ your mind will determine your thought process. I tend to follow the belief that what you think about you bring about , so to bring about positive thoughts you must read information that supports that idea. Self-help books are great tools to accomplish this feat. Which books do you read, well I like books by Dr Wayne Dyer, Tony Robbins, Norman Vincent Peale, Og Mandino, and Neville Goddard are just to name a few. But the first book I would highly recommend is The Power of the Sub-Conscious Mindby Joseph Murphey. When you read information that tells you that you have control over your thoughts, your life changes.

FRIENDS

Who are your friends? Are the majority of your conversations positive or negative? Are you discussing possibilities of what you want or negatively, the haves and the have-nots? It has been said who you hang around will determine how far you will go. Well, that may sound harsh but true. For example, if you are thinking of starting a business, changing career paths or just even returning to school later in life. Your friends will either encourage you or give you every reason why you should or should not. If you want to have a positive mindset you want friends that will give you possibilities and support of your given desire instead of giving you every negative scenerio of why it would not be a good idea.

As you can see, your mindset determines how far you succeed in life or not. It will allow you to visualize everything you may want in life or it will make you believe that you are stuck with your current circumstances with no possible choice.  So the question remains, do you have a positive or negative mindset ? If you don’t like the results you are receiving in life change your mindset. 

I DID!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changng your MIndset

  1. grndmachris says:

    I need to work on a more positive mindset because I work in a very negative environment and those ladies in there are quite the downers. I started blogging as a way to interact with more positive people and I am glad I found your blog. 🙂

    • nextphasemom says:

      I do understand. I also work around a lot of “downers”. What I had to do was change my mindset so I would not be as depressed as they were. I started reading and speaking against thier negativity and now they expect me to be the postive one. It is something I had to train myself to do and I am constantly training myself daily. I am glad you found an outside source for encouragement. Now we can encourage each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

