Staying Positive All Day

Have you ever tried to stay positive all day regardless of the circumstances that may occur? How difficult was it? Did you succeed? The gurus tell you, all you have to do are to just think positively and you will receive positive results. Well, what do you do when things happen un-expectantly? Car breaks down, unexpected expense, health concern etc. Do you panic and go into a negative overload of what ifs? Or do you immediately expect things to work out?  Well, one thing is for sure, to react positively requires consistent conscious effort. For me this effort requires three actions, controlling my emotions, changing my inner discussion with myself, and expecting things to work out –a positive result.

Consistent conscious effort

These key words, consistent conscious effort are just that. You can’t think positively once and feel well I got this down because you will be lying to yourself. It requires consistency. You must reprogram your thinking. It is natural to play what if in your mind when things happen. When you begin to think what if, it is there as a defense mechanism to prepare you for what event you think is to come. So you must teach yourself not to think of what may happen or may not happen but what you want to happen. This takes effort on your part, consistent effort until it becomes a habit.

Controlling my emotions

I realize when certain circumstances occur I may panic and become anxious of the outcome. This is not good. You must remain calm so you can think clearly. When you are able to do this you realize that the world is not against you and this situation is just a circumstance that has happened. At this point you can rationalize a positive outcome. I have learned to stop, take deep breaths, and begin thinking positive affirmations to myself. Affirmations such as: everything will be okay, I know things will work out for my highest good and only the best outcome will happen. When I think along these lines I begin to feel better and more relaxed, because at this point I have entered into a state of faith.

Changing my inner discussion

I don’t know about you but at the time when things happen, I use to immediately begin to think of all the what if’s so to prepare myself of what may or may not happen. Well, over time I have learned this is not the best habit to have. I would begin to say things like if it is not one thing it is another, there will always be problems, or I knew it was too good to be true. All of these statements are negative affirmations.  I had to stop and think, why I would repeat negative affirmations to myself when I wanted just the opposite to happen. As I stated in my bio, I love reading self-help books. So I have learned words are powerful. IF words are powerful then I needed to change the words I was repeating to myself. This I have. I no longer run the negative tape in my mind.

Expecting things to work out- a positive result

When things happen, you must expect the result you want and not the result you don’t want. You can only receive that which you expect. This works in accordance with your belief system. If you are a person of faith, positive thinking, new thought or just whatever, to live according to any of these belief systems you are taught to expect only the best result. However, the best result may not be wrapped in the manner you want it but it will be in the highest good if you desire a positive result in your circumstance.

I hope I have shed a little light on my everyday attempt to live positively during everyday circumstances. I am by no means perfect, but this is my ritual. As I stated, it takes a consistent conscious effort.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

