Is 40 the new 20?

Some celebrities are calling 40 the new 20 while displaying toned bodies great skin and a youthful attitude. But less not forget what 40 really mean. Hormonal changes, mood swings, health changes and an increase in sex drive for women are all possible changes for the female 40 year old. Is this the new 20, 0f course not. There was a time when 40 were looked upon as getting older and you are almost over the hill. But for me, the 40s are a time of discovery, new perspectives and simply fabulous living. 40 is not the new 20, it is even better!

Discovery

Yes….the 40s are a time of discovery; a discovery of who you really are as a person and how you will live the rest of your life. When you reach your 40s, it is a time to live your dreams if you already are not doing so. If you are working in an unrewarding career and there is something that you have desired to do for a long time, 40’s are usually the time when a change is necessary and at times unavoidable. You know what you want and you are more determined than ever to get it at this stage of your life. If you have been putting off projects and delaying trips or vacations, going back to school, starting that business or whatever it maybe. It is during this stage of your life is when the need to follow that dream, take that vacation, begin that project, etc.  becomes more urgent. To put it simply, 40 is a time of right now!

New perspectives

The closer you get to 40 you begin to realize what is important and what is unimportant. You begin to put things into a new perspective because what mattered in your 20’s and 30’s will more than likely will not in your 40’s. However….yes there is a however…it is also a time of decisiveness, at this stage in your life, the whole game changes. Your priorities usually begin to shift to more long term options instead of the right now mode of the past.

me before hair cut

There are some women who totally change their lives at 40. Some change for a complete physical makeover. I myself cut my hair. I had been wearing my hair long and shoulder length since forever but when I turned 40 I decided to cut it. Cut it, I did! Everyone was in shock but I was having the time of my life. For me, it was a new adventure. A new look, a change that I needed to make at the time. Some of my friends got tattoos at the age of 40. That is not my thing because I just do not like needles but hey, that was their choice. 40 is all about your personal choiceand not about what others think.

me after hair cut

Still others may quit their jobs, start a new career, or start a business to begin something new. A career change at 40 is not uncommon. A new challenge at this age can be both exciting and youthful. And there are those that undergo drastic life changes such as divorce. Oh by the way…my hair has changed yet again.

Activities that you may have once enjoyed, you may no longer enjoy at this age. Why? Well, that answer may vary depending on whom you ask but for me, it will simply be just because. If you were a club hopper you may change to entertaining more at home and enjoy a more personal environment. You may begin to enjoy more destination travel with the all-inclusive attractions for enjoyment instead of the regular shopping and clubbing trips.

Fabulous Living

It would seem that life does not begin until you are 40. You have a clearer vision of what you want the rest of your life to look like. You are ready to make the necessary choices to assist you in achieving that dream you have selfishly harbored in your heart. You are now appreciating life. You understand how precious life really is and do not want to waste not one minute of it any longer.

Your health is now more important to you than ever. You want to maintain that youthful attitude you have or you want to return to it. Your appetite for living becomes ferocious. You now make the necessary changes needed to improve your health and quality of living. You begin to exercise more or you include it into your daily activity.

Oh must I add that the sex is better! Yessss it is. Why? Because at 40 you know who you are and what you want. There is no guess work. Your life is your own at 40. You no longer care what others think, feel or say. You have officially become your own person and it feels wonderful!

So is it safe to say that 40’s are the new 20’s? I would say NOT! I must say I did not begin living until I reached my 40’s. My 20’s and 30’s were a time of total and complete sacrifice for the wellbeing of my children and family. But now that they are older and my husband and I are almost empty nesters approaching retirement, we are enjoying our time together. I am enjoying my 40’s!!!

Life is good and I am living it!

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is 40 the new 20?

  1. I would totally agree with this. At least, this is how it was for me at 40. Now I am 52 and things are a bit more of a challenge–I don’t have the energy I did at 40, and because of menopause, weight gain becomes an issue, which can mess up your self esteem. The good news at this age is that the kids are grown and out of the house so you can do whatever you want with your time. You get to go back to doing the things you loved because you now have time to enjoy them. Marriage also gets closer too. Enjoy your 40’s now–but you can also look forward to your 50’s!!!

Leave a Reply

