Disadvantages of communication when using technology

Are there disadvantages of communication when using technology? I believe so.

Whatever happened to picking up the telephone and talking with people?

It still works. Actively talking with another person when possible enhances your interpersonal skills and offers such a personal touch. But my college kids are texting, Facebook, twittering and voxing away. I just feel like the personal touch gets lost in the translation when using some of these tools.  To answer my own question, Yes there are disadvantages of communication when using technology.

I am ole school I guess and I am willing to change with the times but more often than not the personal touch is lost when you are texting. You can’t text emotion only words. The average text messages are written in run on sentences or just phrases with  abbreviated words, letters and symbols.

“C u 2morrow”., “Ttyl” (talk to you later) ,” lol” (laugh out loud), “on my way”, “just leaving”, :-), are just to name a few messages that I have received myself. I am trying to change with the times.

Posting on Facebook allows me to stay in touch with my family and friends that are near and far.

There is a disadvantage of communication when using technology resulting in a lack of personal contact.

Instead of posting a message or story on Facebook I could just pick up the phone and talk with the individuals in my family or to my friends to let them know what is going on in my life.

Facebook post: “Khem just twisted his hair” along with a brief description of how and why he did it.  A picture is included with this post of his hair. This may not be as impersonal but it still lacks their personal contact of seeing Khem in person.

I tweet: “Khem twisted his own hair” but I don’t add the additional description. You have to be careful in tweeting because you are only allowed so many words in your tweet. This also lacks personal contact.

When my daughter was home for Christmas last year; she sent her boyfriend a voxed message all the time. I asked her did she have her phone on speaker because I could hear his voice and I thought they were having a conversation. She told me “no I am using Voxer”. I found out Voxer is a one way voice message like a walkie-talkie.  A person sends you a voice message and you respond back at your convenience. I asked, “why not just talk on the phone?” She goes, “I don’t want to talk to him yet because I am angry with him.”

I asked her “how does he know you are angry, did you tell him?” She says “no, I just don’t message him back as quick”; another disadvantage of communication when using technology.

She could have easily just picked up the phone and told him why she was angry and settled the situation.

Why send a voice message when you can just talk to the person? I guess I am just behind the times. A continuous voice message does allow you to give a personal account of your conversation; in a walkie-talkie kind of way while waiting on him to respond, like talking to yourself.

In 2012, we have come a long way in communication. But the good ole fashion way of communicating should not be totally discarded as far as I am concerned. Technology allows you to message more people at once and on a larger scale but the disadvantage of communication when using technology lacks the personal touch that only personal contact can deliver.

Yes, I am aware Skype is one piece of technology that allows you to still have personal contact because it allows you not only to see but also talk with the person. The disadvantage to this communication when using technology is the other person must have a Skype account with a user phone or computer.

What do you think?

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in life style and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disadvantages of communication when using technology

  1. Linda G. says:

    Hi Bernetta. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog.
    I agree that technology has resulted in a lack of personal contact. It is better, though, than no contact at all!

    • nextphasemom says:

      Linda G! You are so welcome.
      I agree. I can really tell how communication has changed by watching my young adult children. The ‘ole days’ of picking up the phone is almost non-existent when most of thier communication involves texting and facebook.

      Thanks for leaving a comment.

  2. El Guapo says:

    As a fellow 40+er, I think you make some great points.
    I also think, in the end, that in a couple of generations, no one will even know what you’re talking about, because that’s how it will always have been.

    For myself, though I embrace some of the technology (twitter, blog, im), I feel your pain for the loss of an elegantly crafted sentence, and actual conversations.

    • nextphasemom says:

      So true! Technology will ultimately take precident of alot of human interactions that were once cherished.

      I too, am learning to embrace technology and is trying to get my mother to do the same :-).
      Thanks for leaving a comment.

  3. Pingback: bnmmjvwoj

Leave a Reply

