When Life Happens….

I am no different from many others that had plans for my life. You know the usual, going to college, getting married, having a killer career, having a family and retiring to enjoy my golden years doing whatever I want. I know this sounds very ‘baby boomerish’ and what can I say. I am not a baby boomer but I was born right after so my values sort of reflect the same.

Then Life Happened.

Now to life….well my life did not happen exactly the way I had planned. Where can I start? The then ‘unthinkable’ happened. I got pregnant while attending community college and working, thought what to do now? I pondered this question for a while. At 21 this was pretty big. My family wasn’t too enthused and my mom wasn’t quite ready to be a grandmother but Life Happened. I had to heed the call.

What did I do? I got married. Yes I married my child’s father and was looking forward to happiness and bliss because I did love my children’s father. Did I have the white picket fence and everything that goes with it? Well, not with this husband I did not. Ha Ha! Anyway, I am getting ahead of myself. I got married and we had another child. By this time I have a boy and a girl. Two beautiful children if I may say so myself.

Let’s move on. It wasn’t working with the children’s father so I got a divorce and remarried. My current husband and I have been married for 17yrs. I have finished my degree and have been working on my job for 25yrs. My mom is crazy about her now grown grandchildren.

So, did I complete my plan?

Yes I did but not in the order I originally thought. Now I am happily ever after so to speak because my life is far from over.

Okay…I gave you a glimpse into my world just to let you know that life does not have to go as you planned it but it will go anyway. The idea is to adjust and keep moving forward to your desired objective to the best of your ability.

In some cases you have to start anew and fresh with new plans. This is okay because a new start is sometimes the best start. Yes you may have lost a job, gone through a divorce or have been diagnosed with illness. Where do you start? Right where you are. You may be on a new path going in a different direction but as long as you maintain your objective and remain positive, solutions will surface for you to take advantage. No life situation will stop you from achieving that which you set out to accomplish if you don’t allow it.

It is my belief that everything is not supposed to happen the way we want it. If it did life would be boring. There are lessons to learn and surprises to enjoy and you may miss some of the best opportunities that you are not aware of because of your limited perspectives.

Life Happens to all of us.

It is not what happens to us that matters but how we deal with it. You may go through phases of unknown tragedies as well as unbelievable successes but it is how we deal with it that determines the quality of life.

So what do I do when life happens? I make the best of the situation and look for positive solutions that will enable me to continue my life in a manner that will make me happy and self-fulfilled.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When Life Happens….

  1. Linda G. says:

    Life didn’t go as I planned either. I think, though, if it hadn’t gone as I expected, I wouldn’t have what I have now. I have two ex-husbands. I am married to my third husband. We recently celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary. I am blissfully happy, not only in marriage but in life. I have always wanted children. It wasn’t meant to be, at least not children born to me. My husband’s daughter is my daughter in all senses of the word, except she wasn’t born to me and I didn’t watch her grow the first 14 years of her life. My husband and I hosted exchange students. We have two girls and three boys that we consider our “daughters” and “sons”. Soon after I turned 56 years old, my stepdaughter and her husband blessed us with not one grandchild but TWO grandchildren — twin girls. Life rarely goes as planned, but what life has in store for you can be much, much better than what you planned yourself!

    • nextphasemom says:

      Linda, my point exactly! We may feel that Life is planning tricks on us by not going as planned and at times it does..haha. But in a lot of cases if we allow it and choose to accept what we can control and what we can not, we ultimately live ‘happier lives’.

  2. ashantiqueen says:

    Life happens….then what?? We remind ourselves and others of the cliche ‘what doesn’t kill me only makes me stronger!!!’ Many times while life is happening we tend to get caught up in the throws of the storm or situation forgetting that storms cleanse and promote growth. At times it’s difficult to stay in the ‘NOW’ but when we do we’re able to see the blessings and lessons embedded in each situation. Thanks for the awesome post!

    • nextphasemom says:

      Ashantiqueen…you are so correct! It is important to stay in the NOW so we may appreciate that which is present and not that which is not. I have also foud that it is the ‘storm’ that gets us to the point where we want to be because it does cause growth and without growth we would simply stand still.

      Thanks for commenting and I am glad that you appreciate my “ramblings” 🙂

  3. Pingback: pdwscfjin

Leave a Reply

