Super Soul Sunday by Oprah Winfrey- Why Watch this or not?

Let me start by saying; I am not trying to convert anyone to be an Oprah follower nor am I here to promote her or her network. These thoughts are mine and mine alone, with that being said here we go.

I am not the typical Oprah fan.

Well, to tell the truth before Oprah got her OWN Network, I never watched her shows. Her shows before she “retired” were aired during a time when I was at work and a lot of the topics she discussed, I really was not interested in so I never felt the need to record her shows in the pass.

However, Super Soul Sunday is a different topic and it is a show all on its own. I love this show! I find myself recording this it so I can refer back to it later in the week. Some shows I refer to more than others. When I watch a certain episode and it ‘speaks to me’ I watch it over and over until I get my ‘ah ha moment’.

You may be thinking that she is pushing a ‘new philosophy’ but this is not really the case. If you are a spiritual person this show will likely resonate with you. Her topics on Super Soul Sunday are not really religious but allow you to view the bigger picture of your life and provide you with the tools if you wish to make changes in areas you are not happy about.

Super Soul Sunday is marketed to be “encouraging, inspiring and uplifting”.

All of these are possible if you are open to it. If you are a ‘self-helper”, this is the show for you.

You see, I am a ‘self-helper’ which is why I am drawn to the topics that she covers in this program.

To watch or not to watch is the question?

Well, that would depend on you and your personal views on life. If you are one that is not limited to one religious philosophy or dogma then you may find some useful information in this program. Super Soul Sunday covers a broad perspective on life.

However, if you are one that is restricted in your religious belief and views on life, then this may not be the show for you. You may find yourself conflicted in what you believe or totally at odds with the topic that is discussed or you may be offended if you are one that is unable to respect a difference of opinion other than your own. It is also likely that you may find this show a waste of time and just a lot of malarkey and that is okay too. Everyone is respected for their opinion.

I have seen the comments and views concerning opinions of Oprah’s religious belief or lack thereof and it is my opinion that her belief are hers and hers alone. The Bible tells us to ‘study to show ourselves approved’ and it is this verse that I take to heart. But it is not my wish to get into a religious battle of what is or what is not. I am merely stating that I believe this show is great!

She has covered various authors and religious leaders and I have enjoyed the views expressed. The show offers tools and concepts that can be applied to your everyday life.  It is this which I enjoy as well.

She has covered the likes of Joel Olsten, T D Jakes, Dr Wayne Dyer, Carolyn Myss, Deepak Chopra, Tony Robbins and a few other authors that I can’t recall at this time.

So again, I not here to convert you to be a Oprah follower, just that I love this show on her OWN Network. By the way, it is broadcasted on Sunday mornings.

To my fellow ‘self-helpers’ if you have seen this Super Soul Sunday and you enjoyed it, please share your favorite author or topic that the show has covered. I am just curious.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in life, life style and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Super Soul Sunday by Oprah Winfrey- Why Watch this or not?

  1. Pingback: itnfwgtol

  2. Kelly says:

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in reality was a leisure account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep in touch?

    • nextphasemom says:

      Kelly! Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I love to keep in touch. You can drop me an email at any time at bdjohns66@yahoo.com. I look forward to hearing from you. I apologize for responding so late. I have not checked my blog lately. But Thanks again 🙂

  3. link says:

    Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • nextphasemom says:

      link, Twenty Ten is the theme I am using for my blog. I just tweeked it a bit. I am glad you like it. When I originally created it I thought it was a bit much. But I love the look of the tranquity of the water which I think inspires me at times. I hope you stop by again.

Leave a Reply

