Menopausal and the Holidays

http://blog.olgassecret.com/blog/natural-oils

Yes, the Holidays are here or more specifically; it is Christmastime. Christmas is a time for family, friends, sharing and more importantly love. Okay this all sounds good but to the menopausal woman it means

“my nerves are really bad” and I am just trying to survive the holiday.

The hormonal change can wreak havoc on the mind and body and this time of year is no exception.

For many women Christmas involves a long list of things to get done. A to do list may include activities as shopping, cooking, parties to attend, and for some traveling to be with family. While for many the list may be shorter and even longer but the effects it has on the hormones can be overwhelming.

Shopping can become a sport during the Christmas season. The ability to find the best deals and value for loved ones and possibly yourself is a constant endeavor. We watch for the mail circular for discounts and mark downs. We sign up for email alerts to receive coupons from our favorite stores.

Now for the menopausal shopper, well it can be a little different. We will decide what we want and go to purchase “that” item. There is little time for just looking. We want “that” and it is “that” we purchase. We have little patience for long lines. Oh and if my mood change and I begin to sweat while shopping, I realize something is out of balance.  When that happens look out. I am having a hot flash and I will put everything down and walk right out of the store.

The smart shopper will purchase items online or will start the shopping day as early as possible to beat the rush. The key thought here is patience. We are short on patience when it comes to shopping and dealing with crowds. However, if the deals are great enough we will bear the lines and crowds to get what we are looking for as long as we are able to escape the hot flashes.

Cooking can be overwhelming. You should first start with a menu factoring in guest if necessary. By starting with your holiday favorites is a great way to build the menu. The preparation time should be a factor to provide ample time for those working individuals that have a limited time off work. Of course you should also make a list of ingredients needed for this fabulous holiday meal.

The menopausal cooker is looking for short cuts.

Ha-ha! Yes I said short cuts. If the option of eating at some else’s place is not available and you really don’t want the hassle of cooking traditionally look for as many “warm and serve” entrées as possible. ‘Warm and serve’ can be found over in the frozen food section. Ha-ha-ha. You can find great lasagna in the frozen section of the grocery store. Don’t forget to stroll over to the deli section and possibly pick up a rotisserie chicken or two along with any side item and dessert you may want to add to your menu.
You see the menopausal woman does not have a lot of time for a lot of cooking unless she is totally prepared for it. So in the case she is not she should know there are other options. I also love my personal option of eating whatever I want and disregard the ever mindful diet and eat everything I probably should not.

Parties to attend can be fun if properly handled. There are office parties with your place of employment along with parties with families and friends. When it comes to parties we must be careful to only attend the ones we want and not just say yes to every offer that comes along. Again, as I mentioned earlier, my nerves can be bad and I at times a little impatient so it is not a great idea to be around a bunch of drunkard fools that I don’t particularly care for just to attend a party.

Traveling to be with family and friends can also be a haphazard event if not planned properly. Plan your traveling days as far in advance as possible to prevent delays and always allow for the unexpected. The menopausal traveler needs time for space and peace of mind.  So if the trip is properly planned opportunities for total hormonal melt down should be kept at a minimum.

It would seem that all the tasks are relatively simple and stress free if managed properly.

The main concern of the menopausal woman is to allow her time and space to collect all of her nerves without losing any of them during her many holiday activities.

I always remember menopause is on my journey along life and not a destination to where I will end.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in adult, holiday, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menopausal and the Holidays

  1. grndmachris says:

    Fantastic stories, I feel like I’ve known you all my menopausal days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

