21 st Century Grandmothers

new age nana..courtesty of bookworld.com.au

Now that I am older but not a grandmother yet, I have come to understand the different aspects of possibly being a grandmother. Being a 40’s kind of woman really sheds new light on a lot of different phases in life and for me one very important aspect is being a grandmother.

A grandmother’s job is just a continual phase of parenting but on another level. The children are not actually yours but they are from your children which make them extra special. The relationship of grandchild and grandmother is a special one. In many cases, the grandchild receives the extra benefits of having a special mother that usually gives in to their every desire.

The responsibity of being a grandmother catches a woman at different stages of her life.

This usually results in what type of grandmother she will exibit. In my opinion there are five types of grandmothers: Sexy Grandma, Professional Grandma, New Age Grandma, Menopausal Grandma and Parenting Grandma. Of course all five types have one common denominator and that is the children but otherwise they are all different.

celebrity-pictures-raquel-welch-years-old

Sexy Grandma is usually in her 40’s and not ready to be a grandmother. She is in the prime of her and life and she is dead set on living it and not allowing anyone in her way to hold her back. Yes, she is caring and nurturing but she does not have time to devote all of her time to the grandchild. This grandmother may be single and dating. Her children are grown and now she is living the life she did not have when she was younger. In most cases, this grandmother does not want to be called grandmother. She will usually have a cute fabulous name for her grandchildren to call her. She is young in spirit and heart and usually very active. Yes she will babysit the grandchildren only on her terms and when she has time. This grandmother is fabulous, stylish and on the go.

Professional Grandma may be in her 40’s as well. She is also in the prime of her life pursuing her career. This grandma is career oriented and enjoys what she does. She is also caring and nurturing but has less time to spend with the grandchildren due to her career demands. This grandmother is usually financially stable and usually showers the grandchildren with a lot of gifts. She does not have a lot of time to spend so she makes up for it by purchasing gifts for the children and helping out financially. Babysitting will be occasional for this grandmother. Her schedule must permit and quality time must be preplanned. This grandmother is fabulous, on the go, goal oriented and very focused on her personal desires of accomplishments.

bigmeditate-courtesy-of-kripalu-org.jpg

New Age Grandma may be in her late 40’s or older. She has slowed down a bit, a little more settled than the other grandmothers and she is enjoying life. This grandmother has learned to take time to smell the coffee and has slowed down her life for more relaxed enjoyment. She may be very spiritual. She meditates and enjoys yoga and is focused on living healthy. Natural herbs and teas are the way to go for this grandmother that enjoys the relaxation of spas and possibly retreats. Yes this grandmother is nurturing, caring and will include the grandchildren in her relaxation techniques and activities.

Menopausal Grandma will be in her 40’s and older. She is unpredictable. This grandmother is moody and emotional. She may cry at the drop of a hat. You never know from one minute to the next what will happen with this grandmother. She keeps you on your toes. She is at times impatient and stressed out. Young children should not be left alone with this grandmother for long periods of time. If she even agrees to babysit at all…hehehehe….it really depends on her mood and state of mind at the time. This grandmother must have her ‘me time’ so don’t overly push the babysitting unless she is in the mood for it. She is also loving and nurturing. She is a wonderful grandmother. She may just have uncontrollable bouts with emotions. Make sure you watch out for the ‘hot flashes’ with this grandmother; the reaction can be unpredictable and varies depending on the person.

Mat Hayward – Fotolia.com
courtesy of bbc.co.uk

Parenting Grandma is usually the home body and the most settled of all the grandmas and she maybe in her late 50’s and older.  She may love to cook and create arts and crafts. This grandmother loves to spend time with the grandchildren and can be found with the children all the time. She may even contact the parents on a regular requesting for a visit with the grandchildren. There are usually plenty of planned child friendly trips involving this grandmother.

Of course the different characteristics may overlap each other or a grandmother may have more than one, all, or some of the same traits.

Grandmothers are loveable regardless of their personal traits and they usually love their grandchildren without fault.

Anyone of the above mentioned grandmothers can be found spoiling the grandchildren and sending them home. (I know my mother did)

While I am currently not a grandmother, I would probably fall into the category of the Menopausal Grandma with a little Parenting, a tap of New Age and a dash of Sexy. I know that is a lot but I am trying to be honest…heheh…..I did say my first choice was menopausal.  My daughter harasses me all the time about what type of grandmother she thinks I will be and we usually laugh about it. So until the time comes, it is all speculation.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in family, life, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 21 st Century Grandmothers

  1. Grndma Chris says:

    I wish I was the sexy, professional grandma, but alas, I appear to be the menopausal granny, but without all the crankiness. Fun post

  2. These are genuinely impressive ideas in concerning blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  3. augenlasern says:

    This article is genuinely a good one it helps new net users, who are wishing
    in favor of blogging.

  4. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post
    is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!

  5. I just want to mention I am just all new to blogging and site-building and definitely loved you’re web page. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your website . You really come with perfect articles and reviews. Kudos for sharing with us your web-site.

  6. Ellis says:

    It’s an awesome article in favor of all the online visitors; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

