Eating during menopause has turned into a second job

weight%20gainEverywhere I turn these days, I am noticing advertisements giving advice on how to lose unwanted pounds, on what to eat and what not to eat, on exercise, this diet plan vs. that diet plan and on being healthy. I am sure I need to take note of this information but it is beginning to be just a bit much.

Being a woman in her 40’s and constantly reminded of what to eat, what not to eat and make sure you exercise is not what I want to hear all the time but unfortunately it has become my way of life.

Of course I understand the importance of being healthy especially at this stage in my life while at the same time I don’t want to be stressed about deciding what to eat and what not to eat.

There was a time when I did not have to worry about what I ate because I was a petite young person. Okay I can say it, I was skinny. I could eat whatever I wanted without cause. But oh how things changed; I turned 30 and it seemed as if I inhaled too much I would gain 10lbs just in breathing. I went from 110 to 130 very quickly. I did not mind it so much because I went from a size 3 to a size 8. A size 8 was fine with me. I really did not like being skinny anyway so I was okay with the weight gain, but it did not stop there.

When I turned 35, I gained even more weight, but I was still in my size 8. I knew something was going on. I began watching what I ate and working out. Working out mind you was a little difficult at first because remember I was the girl that really did not need to work out for weight loss. So my workout was minimal at best. It consisted mainly of walking and a little cardio.treadmill_woman1

Okay I hit 40. Man did I hit 40. Not only did I gain more weight but other changes came as well. Yes you guessed it, the “hot flashes” started along with “night sweats” and “restlessness”. I called my mom to inquire about the “hot flashes” and she told me I had to be pre menopause if not menopausal. I wasn’t ready.

imagesCAM5S2QN

Now that I am over 40 and the weight is still a concern, I am still very much involved in choosing healthier choices for meals.

I have included more fiber, fruits and vegetables in my diet. I am snacking on nuts instead of chips and I have switched the sodas for green tea. I have purchased a workout video and I have a membership to a local gym. I even purchased the Food Lover’s weight loss program to teach me how to cook and pair certain foods together to increase metabolism. I have decreased the bread, pastas and potatoes from my weekly food choices to once a week instead of daily.

I love doughnuts, cinnamon rolls, garlic bread, yeast rolls, and muffins and I have all but eliminated these items from my diet. But I must say when I have a craving, I must satisfy that craving or it will drive me insane and I will ultimately eat more that I originally planned.

imagesCAX7K1XD

courtesy of valueliving.net

I am now more aware of my food choices since the weight gain is now a part of my life.

I can no longer just go out to eat at a restaurant and pick my favorite food choice without considering the number of calories. I think twice before ordering the pasta dish from the menu when I go out and opt for a less caloric meal.

The constant battle of what to eat and what not to eat during menopause can be daunting at best; but I realize if I stay diligent I am able to decrease my weight and improve my overall health at the same time. The constant watching what you eat can be like a second job. A second job that can pay off huge dividends if properly monitored.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in diet, life, life style, meoupause and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Eating during menopause has turned into a second job

  1. Grndma Chris says:

    I love your mindset. Struggling with weight is a daunting task and it can be a depressing one at times. I also went from a size 4 to an 8 in about a 2 year span. Now that I have no female parts, I have to watch everything that I eat. I tell myself, that all I can do is try to eat healthy and take care of myself, everything else is really out of my control.
    Congrats on the gym membership, I’m sure you will enjoy it.

    • nextphasemom says:

      Yes the planning what to eat has been a task but I am trying to stay mindful. I know when I have gotten completely out of control when my clothes begin to fit differently because I do not own a scale. My mother has one and I use to get depressed when I would weigh myself at her house. Deciding what to eat and what not to eat is definitely the journey I am on now.
      Working out is another job so the gym has become my job away from my paying job…hahaha. But I also try and take the stairs when I can at work to make up for the days I don’t make it to my second job (the gym). 😀

  2. Hiya very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?I am glad to find a lot of helpful information here in the put up, we want develop extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .
    perimenopause http://menopause.healthjournalonline.org

  3. Valuable info. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by accident, and I’m stunned why this coincidence did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.
    perimenopause http://menopause.healthjournalonline.org

  4. menopause says:

    Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my web site thus i got here to return the want?.I am trying to find things to enhance my web site!I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your concepts!!
    menopause http://menopause.healthjournalonline.org

  5. Delphine says:

    Really liked what you had to say in your post, Eating during menopause has turned into a second job | nextphasemom, thanks for the good read!
    — Delphine

    http://www.terrazoa.com

Leave a Reply

