Helpful ideas for Women over 40 Shopping

courtesy of guardian.co.uk

courtesy of guardian.co.uk

The idea of shopping when you are a woman over 40 and over can mean several things;

reinventing yourself and buying a new wardrobe, purchasing new clothes due to weight gain or shopping because you are a fashionista and love to shop.  Whatever the reason, when it comes to shopping you either love it or you hate it.

When you are out casually shopping for the perfect outfit or maybe just browsing, patience is a key element. It doesn’t matter if you love to shop in department stores, boutiques or value stores, you must be willing to sift through the many looks available. However, an avid shopper is skilled at putting a look together rather quickly.

courtesy of brunswicksquare.ca

courtesy of brunswicksquare.ca

When you walk into the store with many mannequins outfitted with the latest look it can be overwhelming but don’t lose heart; there is a look for you. The lightening is bright in the store allowing you to scope the store and the various areas to determine which area you would like to browse through first. The value shopper however, will not be bombarded with mannequins; you will just have racks and racks of clothing with potential looks posted up on tall display racks or maybe not at all so you must rely on your imagination.

While this can be a great time to find many deals it can also be frustrating for the woman 40 and over shopping for a suitable look that fits into her style and functionality. A great shoe sale is always on top of a woman’s list but when it comes to clothing it can be a bit tricky depending on your body type.

Clothing should be attractive, comfortable and suitable to the person, however finding these pieces can be a bit of a challenge for the woman 40 and over.

While you do not have to be a fashionista, there are some points to consider for the woman 40 and over. Some ideas that may be helpful are:

  • Don’t get stuck on size.

It can be noted that size varies depending on the brand of clothing. When shopping be sure and try it on to determine if it fits properly and if it is flattering to your body type.

  • Know your body type.

That outfit may look very flattering on the mannequin in the window but when you put it on it may make you wonder “what was I thinking?” Everyone was not meant to wear everything, so know your body type to ensure that the outfit compliments the body in and attractive way that you are comfortable and satisfied with wile liking what you see in the mirror.

courtesy of the-beheld.com

courtesy of the-beheld.com

  • Experiment with different styles.

You are a woman of 40 and over not a teenager and not 20 something but a mature woman who knows what she wants that is possibly going through menopause. You don’t have to compromise style to look like a 20 something when you are clearly fabulous and over 40. There is nothing sexier than a well-dressed woman who looks confident, fabulous and her age without looking frumpy.

courtesy of forthoseabouttoshop.ca

courtesy of forthoseabouttoshop.ca

  • Don’t be afraid to shop.

Shop around for the best styles. Visit your favorite stores but don’t leave out other stores you may not frequent as often or not at all. If you see someone with an item you like, ask where she got it. Check with your online stores as another option.  Be sure and verify the return policy just in this case but don’t eliminate the online boutiques from your shopping experience, they may have some great deals.

  • Have fun.

Shopping can be a fun experience. It is a time to play dress up and be someone new. You can totally reinvent yourself with a new and different outfit.

Just because you are a woman of 40 and over does not mean you have to shop from the ‘grandma’ section.

courtesy of mirror.co.uk

courtesy of mirror.co.uk

Shopping does not have to be a dreaded chore but a fun activity to enjoy alone or with friends. You can make a day of it by visiting various stores in your area or by planning an entire trip devoted to shopping. The idea is to enjoy and be open to the many looks that are available or just become creative and create your own signature look.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in life style and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Helpful ideas for Women over 40 Shopping

  1. Grndma Chris says:

    That is one thing I totally dread, shopping and if I could make the clothes I have last for eternity I would be fine, and since the hysto and 40+ there is no telling what that dressing room mirror would say to me…eeks.

  2. Hi you have a nice website over here! Thanks for posting this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up the good work I’ll visit your blog again. Thanks!

  3. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  4. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

    • nextphasemom says:

      I just reloaded this post and the pictures uploaded with a problem. I am using Internet explorer so I don’t know if that makes a difference. Maybe reload and try agin. I hope this helps. Thanks for stopping by and please come again.

Leave a Reply

