Are you depressed? Warning signs to indicate depression

thCAXPWWGS.jpg courtesy of mjb.biglaughs.orgA holiday has passed and now you may be feeling sad or alone. Is this behavior normal? That depends. Are you avoiding the public? Do you spend a lot of time sleeping? While I am no doctor, the answer of yes could indicate a sign of something you need to pay attention to that needs to be discussed with a doctor. While I may not be a doctor, it is safe to discern that these behaviors could clearly indicate something like depression. Depression according to the healthguide.org is a feeling of helplessness, hopelessness, and the inability to function every day without relief.

It is important to know if you are depressed and the warning signs.

Things happen in everyday life that may make you sad and possibly throw you off from your normal schedule but it is essential that you continue with your life. I know this because I believe I fell into depression after I was injured in a car accident. I did not encounter any broken bones and I was blessed to walk away from what appears to be a no injury incident.

But what people did not know was I did sustain an injury, a back injury. It is not something that I experienced excruciating pain from but a tightness that is hard to explain. I had to attend therapy for several weeks and was given muscle relaxants.

It wasn’t until I stopped going to therapy and finally replaced my vehicle after a year in a half that I begin to notice some signs that indicated depression.

My warning signs of depression were:

courtesy of www.smallbrain.net

• Sleeping a lot, my back was constantly tight so I stayed in the bed a lot
• Irritability, due to constant discomfort in my back
• Feeling of hopelessness, I did not know when I would get another vehicle
• Feeling of helplessness, my husband and son was taking me to work and picking me up everyday
• Sadness, I did not like the idea of not having my own vehicle
• Consumed with negative thoughts, of my life will not get back to normal. I will always have problems with my back. This is an ongoing situation.

After a year of this and realizing I needed to get back to myself. I knew I wasn’t feeling normal. I had stopped my exercise routines. I didn’t want to be around anyone because of my low mood. I knew I had to do something to change my mood. I had to get it together.

My first step was to purchase a car. The reason I did not replace my vehicle immediately was because it was the second used car I had purchase to help my kids. It wasn’t paid off and the insurance settlement had not come in yet. We needed to wait on the insurance settlement with my injury before moving forward in purchasing another car. We finally got the settlement and purchased another vehicle.

My life is now coming together slowly. I can now drive myself to work after a year. It felt wonderful and freeing. I knew I had to restart my old routines and start some new ones to shake the feeling of hopelessness. I pulled out my self-help cds and put them in the car so I could play them constantly during my drive to and from work.

I felt myself coming back. I also began to read again. I am an addictive reader to self-help and spiritual material. I knew where my thoughts should be and I was determined to change them. I also began to get out more. My husband began to want to go out to eat more to get me out of the house. It began to feel good to be out enjoying dinner and talking with him during times I would usually be home in the bed. I also would ask a friend out for dinner after work occasionally so to break up my routine of going home and getting in the bed and going to sleep.

Slowly I began to feel like living again. I would say affirmations to myself in the mirror every morning to get my day going. I would search Youtube for videos to help me change my thinking and watch them during my lunch hour at work. Over time I could feel myself not only feeling grateful, happy and worthy of my life but I could feel a new strength that I had never felt before. A strength that I knew I could overcome anything. It was and is a great feeling.

Today I no longer sleep as much, except when I take muscle relaxers and I only take them when utterly necessary. I understand that a conscious choice must be made daily to live my life to the fullest and that is my agenda.

My case may not be textbook and I did not get to the point where I felt I need medication, because I am not one to always want to take pills. I knew if I wanted my thought process to change and for my life to get better, I would have to take control of it. So I did.

If you are feeling depressed and not strong enough to notice what is going on, by all means seek help from your doctor. Life was not meant to be simply endured but enjoyed and we must do our parts to ensure our own happiness and well-being.

Depression does not have to be a death sentence, but it should be a wakeup call that something is not right.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in depression, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are you depressed? Warning signs to indicate depression

  1. I just want to say I am just all new to blogging and truly liked your blog site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You absolutely have awesome writings. Bless you for sharing your web page.

  2. I just want to tell you that I’m very new to blogs and seriously loved you’re web-site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with superb well written articles. Thanks a lot for revealing your webpage.

  3. 手機外殼 says:

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve undoubtedly picked up anything new from correct correct here. I did even so expertise various specialized difficulties by using this internet website, given that I skilled to reload the web page a whole lot of periods previous to I could get it to load correctly. I received been asking yourself but if your internet hosting is OKAY? Not that I’m complaining, but gradual loading instances times will usually impact your placement in yahoo and google and can hurt your substantial-quality score if ads and marketing and advertising with Adwords. Effectively I’m including this RSS to my e-mail and could glance out for a lot more of your respective exciting information. Be certain that you simply replace this again quickly..

  4. Pingback: 手機保護殼

Leave a Reply

