The television influence on teenagers

everyday life.global postI was flipping through the channels and ran across a show called The Bad Girls Club. This is a show I have never watched so I decided to find out why it is called The Bad Girls Club. Well, it did not take long for me to find out. The behavior of those young women was ridiculous. The language was foul and their actions towards one another were simply barbaric. I could not believe this was really on television.

It is more apparent today than ever that the television influence on teenagers is dictating their behavior and parents should be aware and use more supervision.

The teen years are difficult enough on parents as well as the teen without the barbaric behavior that is portrayed on today’s television. Yes, the television is purely entertainment and with that it should be supervised. Gone are the family and light hearted comedy shows to be replaced by reality tv. Not all reality shows are created equal but there are a few that should be banned but I know this will never happen because society loves drama.

Parents must do their due diligence and decide what is appropriate and what is not. Shows such as:

  • The Bad Girls Club
  • All the reality housewives shows
  • The Mob Wives
  • The Jersey Shore (not sure if this is still on…after the hurricane hit the area)
  • The Family Guy

This is not a complete list but those that particularly stand out to some teenagers. Shows such as the ones listed are a direct influence on teenagers of our society.

It is my belief that bullying, foul language, violence, drinking and sex can be a direct relation to the entertainment that is watched on television and influencing teenagers.

No I am not an advocate of government censorship but I am an advocate of parental censorship. Parents you must take an active interest in what your child(ren) is watching on the tv.

The behavior of bullying, foul language and fighting can be found on The Bad Girls Club in great abundance. The young women are selected for the show based upon their “bad” behavior. Your young teen will learn how to bully others and resolve conflict by fighting from this show. No positivity can be found from watching the behavior of these young women.

youhavemorethanyouthink.orgThe Real Housewives shows are a depiction of a lack of communication and bullying among adult women that have money. It may have been the thought that “money or wealth” breeds a certain class of individuals, well these shows proves that to be false as well. These so called wives and girlfriends (on The Basketball Wives show) are just a pack of women that run together to show what money cannot do for you and how it does not dictate behavior. Noone on the show particularly displays a voice of reason only individuals that condone violence and a pecking order of one person leading “the pack” while everyone else follows and watch the madness unfold.

Mob Wives Chicago courtesy of xfinity.comcast.net

Mob Wives Chicago courtesy of xfinity.comcast.net

The Mob Wives are self-explanatory. These wives are shown to be devoted to their husbands but they also dictate a pecking order of follow the leader.

The Jersey Shore is a show of young adults partying, drinking and what happens when they sober up. These young adults are not shown to have much restraint or discipline only what happens when there is too much partying and drinking going on.

The Family Guy, I don’t quite get this show but what I do get is the lack of respect that is depicted along with the adult content while done in a cartoon manner. Don’t let the cartoon delivery fool you, watch the show. It is adult in nature and should not be viewed by young teenagers.

No, you cannot be with your teen 24/7 but you can have discussions of what and why they should not watch certain shows. There should be some supervision on your part of censorship depending on the age of the child and this should be followed with a discussion. The teenagers should be made aware of why you don’t condone the show and how if watched regularly the negative behavior could be unconciously developed and displayed during times of conflict.

Parents should no longer wonder why their teenager display certain behaviour but focus more on teaching how to respond to unproductive and demeaning actons from others. The teenagers are in a fight for their lives and it is our job to give direction, advice and support in a more positive development if we wish to see a change in our young adults.

The influence television has on teenagers can be minimized if and when we as parents provide more positive reinforcement and supply them with the proper tools on how to resolve conflict and how to treat others.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in family, life, life style, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The television influence on teenagers

  1. I just want to say I am just newbie to blogging and actually loved this web page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You actually come with amazing stories. Many thanks for revealing your webpage.

  2. I simply want to mention I’m new to blogging and seriously savored you’re web blog. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You surely have really good well written articles. Thanks for sharing your web page.

  3. It is best to take part in a contest for one of the greatest blogs on the web. I will suggest this web-site!

Leave a Reply

