Keep Talking to your Teenagers

talking to teenagers

Have you ever wondered if your teenagers listen to you when you are talking to them concerning life?

I use to wonder that very question until recently.

You see, I have started back walking for exercise and my daughter of 22 has decided to accompany me.

There is a great park in our area with several trails. I usually like the trail that travels through the park with views of some of the manmade lakes. The scenery is wonderful and peaceful.

Anyway, my daughter and I decided we would walk 4 days a week and possibly twice on weekends. A good start plan I must add and we started off excited. We are walking with the intent of losing weight and toning up.

Our walk will begin by stretching and loosing up the muscles so we will not cramp for about 5 minutes. We will do various leg stretching exercises. After we have stretched enough, off to the trails we go.

Our pace is a steady one. It is what I will call walking faster than a stroll, just enough to get your heart rate going. As we are walking my daughter is usually busily chatting about her friends, classes and just college life in general. Along mid-way into our walk I began to slow down. My calves begin to tighten up- I guess I did not stretch enough. So my pace has begun to slow down and now the fun starts.

At this time Z has begun her motivational speeches of how I just can’t stop and how I must continue the pace we started. She continues on with “visualize the end mom” and “you can do it”. I began to smile to myself while trying to maintain our original pace.

Now we are approaching a hill and I want to slow all the way down because I am hot and my breathing has become heavy. Z is not having it! The girl is on a mission and I feel as though she is trying to kill me. She grabs my hand and encourages me on ahead without skipping a beat. I am still trying to get her to slow down but she just forges on and even increase the pace.

Her speeches are really kicking in, “remember the reason we are walking”,  “how bad do you want it” and  “stay focused”. I am smiling really big right about now. She is wondering why I am smiling and I told her I am just glad she is walking with me. However, that wasn’t the real reason I was smiling.

It was at that point when I realized Z really has listened to me during all the nights and mornings I have had to encourage her through her challenges of classes, friendships, and just regular college life as well as during her teenage years.

I have had my moments when I really did not know if she was listening to me or not. Well, I no longer have to wonder. She does listen and that makes me feel good. All of my late night conversations and during her “my life is going to end” teenage years did not fall on deaf ear.

At this point in her life I realize that growing up can be challenging and I am no longer trying to tell her how to live or what to do. I have taken the road of making suggestions to allow her to see both sides of any given situation and I hope and pray for the best for her.

Anyway, if you are wondering if your teenagers are listening, more than likely they are even though they may not show any signs.

You know the regular signs of “eyes looking up and around the room”, the look of “what are you talking about mom”, “the blank stare” and you just wondering, if your teenager is listening at all. Don’t let the typical teenager expressions or lack there of stop you from telling them what they need to know. Keep talking to your teenagers, their life depends on it.

“Train up a child in the way he should go; and when he is old he will not depart from it.” (Proverbs 22:6) I have found if the child departs from what you have instilled into him temporarily, he will usually return to it at a later time.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in family, parenting, teenagers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keep Talking to your Teenagers

  1. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  2. Pingback: marvin smith

Leave a Reply

