Over 40 and preventive health care

As a woman over 40, remaining healthy becomes my priority. I am one that does not like to visit the doctor and if I must it is usually for preventive care. Well, let me tell, you my preventive care has gotten real serious.

I realize that once you turn 40 there are some preventive measures you can take when it comes to your health such as having the following checkups:

  • Having a mammogram
  • for high blood pressure
  • A doctor’s breast exam
  • Pap smear
  • For high Cholesterol

You see it happened like this…..

I went to the doctor for preventive measures. I knew it was a must because I wanted to stay on top of the potential health issues for women over 40. I can honestly say I got my surprise. It was nothing terribly serious, but more than I wanted to deal with because I hate taking pills.

I knew I had gained a couple of pounds but I was “adequately” working on shedding a few pounds. But after my visit to the doctor’s office, the shedding of a few pounds got more serious.

You know how it goes. When you first arrive at the doctor you are weighed in on a what use to be a weights and measure scale. Now the scale is a little more high-tech and more “accurate” as the doctor sees it…hehehe. I don’t know about that.

Let me continue, I step upon the new scale and it has a “new number”. But I act as if I am not fazed and follow the nurse into the examining room. Now the wait begins. I believe you are left there to contemplate, why am I in this doctor’s office, I feel fine, is all I hear going through my head.

Then I had to be more sensible and told myself, you are here to get a check-up so you can make sure your health is alright. As soon as my inner conversation begins to become more involved, in walks the Nurse and it is time to get this show on the road so I can go home.

preventive care with pillAfter a quick chat, a blood pressure check along with a temperature check, the Nurse is out the door. Before long, the Nurse Practitioner walks in and does the breast check and verifies that I have had a previous pap smear. I hate those…..ooooh my gosh. Anyway, now we begin to talk and here is where she lowers the boom, your blood pressure is too high and I am prescribing you some meds. She continues I need you to also try to lose a little weight because I see you have gained a few pounds. Are you still exercising?

High blood pressure! I thought to myself….nooooo. She continues to tell me the dosage is not that high. My thinking was it I don’t want to take meds. But I knew I needed to follow her orders until I could do better.

I walk out the of office with my mind racing….what can I do about this. I am getting off these pills. My mind goes back to the “weight number” and losing weight. Ah Ha! I will lose some weight so I can lower my blood pressure and possibly get off these pills I thought to myself.

I am feeling back in control and NOW I am on a mission. I am changing my diet and I will start an exercise program.

I have happily state that I am modifying my diet and have started back walking. Updates soon.

About nextphasemom

I am a married mother of 2 college age children. Now that my children are grown attending college and working I find myself lost and wondering what to do with myself. In my loneliness I thought I would do what I love and that is write. Now that I am at retirement status I look forward to creating the next phase of my life. To start I am expressing myself through writing. It has always been relaxing for me so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I am also a self-help fanatic and I try to live an inspired life daily. On occasion I am able to encourage and inspire those around me in a no nonsense way. For those that know me know that when you ask me for my opinion that you will get "the truth"; they know that if you don't want "the truth" don't ask me. No....I am not rude or abusive. I just point out ideas or points of interest that they have not considered or don't want to accept. A lot of my friends call me "the counselor". No..I am not a certified professional counselor but I love psychology. My degree background is business and I am employed in Customer Service. So talking to people on a regular basis is what I do to assist them in finding solutions. Well that is enough about me for now....to be continued because I am ever changing. Take your time to look around and please leave a comment so I will know that you stopped by...until then.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

